Just…write.

This past Friday, I found out some stressful information in my personal life. So after discussing with cousin about it and she asked me over and over, “How do you feel, Helyn? What’s going on in your mind?”

I kept repeating, “I don’t know.”

She finally went and grabbed a few pieces of paper from the printer and handed them to me. She produced a pen moments later. I stared at them, unsure of what to write.

She encouraged me, “You’re a writer, Helyn. I know you can write.”

Finally I gripped the pen and the words began to flow. I wrote down my feelings about the situation and the questions I have. The words poured onto the page and I just let my mind take over.

So if you’re ever feeling stressed or worried or afraid about anything in your life, grab a piece of paper, a napkin, a box, anything and just write.

Write until your hand cramps and your brain turns to mush.

6 thoughts on “Just…write.

  1. First of all, I hope everything is ok! Secondly, I agree that writing is a great way to help sort out your emotions. Whenever I am feeling stressed or upset I write about it, and it somehow helps me determine my thoughts and feelings about the situation. Even though no one ever sees what I write, it feels good to get it out. Writing about personal feelings and emotions would be a powerful tool we could teach kids how to use for themselves.

  2. Hope you are doing better now Helyn! Just wanted to let you know you remind me very much of one of my favourite teachers from high school- my AP English teacher, she was always optimistic, gave of herself freely, and encouraged my love of reading and writing (her name was also Mrs. Van Henderson). Thanks for the advice as to handle stress and difficult times in our lives, I think for each person this way is different (I like to be with people I care about, but not necessarily talk)- but it is important that we all find a healthy outlet for our stress, fears, and other negative emotions. Thanks for sharing

    • Thanks, Sam! I appreciate the compliment. Agreed. Sometimes we just need to realize that we are just humans. We can handle only so much in our minds.

  3. This is great advice. I have the tendency to stress out and think and think and think until I drive myself crazy. I recently was told to begin journaling to get it all out and it really does help!
    Sending positivity your way in dealing in whatever it is life has thrown you.
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

