Teaching and Reffing

Recently, a fellow blogger posted his thoughts on Hockey and Teaching. You can read Donovan’s post here.

He talked about how reffing a hockey game relates to teaching.

Just recently I was at my hometown’s basketball game watching my brother play. The school I graduated from was, and still is, very much into basketball. So when it was the championship game and my brother and his team were up against a challenging school, the crowd became very involved in what the two refs were doing. They were constantly yelling at the refs who were just trying to keep things as fair as possible. Of course, it didn’t help that our team was losing but it wasn’t nice to yelling at the refs. Both the refs had been around the school lots. One graduated from there and the other taught there a few years ago. Some people in the crowd were calling out the ref’s names which is not being a fan of your own team.

Finally the refs became irritated and told one audience member that if he was going to keep it up then he would have to leave the gymnasium. That quieted the crowd. After the game, the one ref left the gym immediately and the other one broke into tears. It was horrible to see.

Even though our boys lost, it was still an intense basketball game to watch. As a spectator, you need to just cheer on your own team and not beak the refs who are doing their best to control the game. Same with teaching. Parents need to support their children in school and realize that the teachers are doing their best to help them learn.

I can also relate to this incident because I’ve reffed volleyball a few times and some of the audience members comment on the calls that I make. Being up on the stand, though, is very intimidating because you are the one making the calls and ultimately choosing whether or not the team wins. Same with teaching. We assess students’ abilities on learning certain subjects and, a lot of the times, choose whether or not they should continue onto the next grade.

Donovan’s point about teachers working together and coming together as a whole is very important. When I was learning to ref volleyball, I was with a senior volleyball ref every time I reffed a game. I was glad I had someone to answer my questions if I was unsure about what to do in a certain situation. That was the best way I learned how to ref.

Overall, there are many similarities between reffing and teaching. Both of them require patience, knowledge, and skill. Someday I will take up the challenge of reffing basketball.

2 thoughts on “Teaching and Reffing

  1. It is nice to see that people read what I write. I think that is important for us to be able to combine our passions and hobbies with what we teach because it keeps things fresh, and it can help give us a different look on life. Looking at what you wrote about the referees at your brothers basketball game, it is easy to see how much pressure it can be to referee a big game, and how draining it can be, just like a big day at school. It takes a certain kind of person to be a referee, just like it takes a certain kind of person to be a teacher.

    • Definitely agree with you, Donovan. It’s awesome that we can stay connected and share our professional thoughts. It will help us in the long run, that’s for sure. Awesome post, too!

Leave a Reply

