Pre-Internship Week 2

Wow! Two weeks done. I cannot believe how fast the time has gone. 

Monday: I had trouble starting a class discussion with the students. It was very weird. I had to really push and get them to finally start speaking somewhat. I taught my first drama lesson this day and I found it difficult because I have never taken a drama class nor have I learned much on how to teach Drama. Luckily for me, the Drama teacher at my school also teaches English so it’s nice having that connection between the two. Today my partner and I co-taught an English A10 class! I enjoyed it a lot and since it was a rowdier class, it was nice to have someone to help out. All this week we will be teaching together. 

Tuesday: This day was three-way conferences at the school. I was able to sit and listen to a few of them which was nice and interesting to hear. The conferences were more so teacher-led than student-led. 

Wednesday: My adviser was here today and I enjoyed speaking with him. He told me that when I have my own three-way conferences, I should have the parents sitting beside me instead of across the table. It’s nice to not have a barrier in the way of the conferences. When I taught today, I had students write down answers for some questions before we had a class discussion and that went a lot better. I was pleased because more students had something to say! 

Thursday: Thanks to my co-op teacher’s notes, I remembered to tell them what they should be finished by the end of the class and when the project is due. I continued my drama lesson and my English lesson. I also managed to snag some resources from my co-op! I went nuts with the photocopier. 

Friday: This day was interesting. I co-taught again with my partner and I found it somewhat difficult. We were handing out the assignment and I got the class to listen to her explain it. When she got to a certain point in it, I found the need to interrupt for a second to add in the examples that I had typed in. However, I should have waited until she was finished before adding in what I wanted to say. I suppose that I just became so comfortable with the students that I wanted to run everything, which isn’t what happens in co-teaching. It was my first week to teach together with someone so it was quite the experience. 

Overall, great second week! I’m learning more and more each day and my co-op’s notes are awesome because they help me improve. Onto week three for more learning opportunities! 

2 thoughts on “Pre-Internship Week 2

  1. I would just like to express my extreme jealousy over you getting to teach a theatre class AND an English class. As an English major, and a drama minor, I am wildly interested in the interconnectedness of the two art forms. As long as the written word has existed, and probably before, there have been people acting out the stories which are contained in the literature. Because drama and literature are my fiercest interests, I cannot wait to discuss with students how interrelated they are, and how you can explore theatre in an English class, and vice versa.

    I am also jealous of your experience with cooperative teaching. As I am out in Moose Jaw, I don’t have anyone to share this experience with. I hope it has been enormously positive for you!

  2. Helyn – Co-teaching is hard! It’s really difficult to combine two people’s teaching styles, and it’s also really difficult to sit back and let someone else take charge of “your” students! I look forward to hearing how the rest of your internship went!

Leave a Reply

